|
E-Resource & Database Menu |
|
|
Links Library Quick links ![]() |
The Library's e-resources are strictly licensed. You may not systematically print or download substantial quantities, or distribute information to unauthorised third parties. [click for more information]. Need Help? Guide to accessing e-resources in The Albert Sloman Library
A B
C
D E F G
H
I J K L
M N O P
Q
R S T U
V
W X Y Z
Searchable full-text access to the British Library's collection of the
newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney
(1757-1817)--the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news
media. More than twelve hundred titles and almost one million pages are
included.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online is a full text library of over 150,000
eighteenth-century printed books, with more than 26 million scanned facsimile
pages. Each title has a full citation record from the English Short Title
Catalogue and is fully searchable - including full-text and illustrations.
18th, 19th & 20th Century House of Commons Papers See :
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
19th Century British Library Newspapers contains full runs of 48 influential
national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural
segments of the 19th century British society.
AbeBooks is a large online marketplace for books. Including new, second-hand,
rare, or out-of-print, books, via a community of over 13,500 independent
booksellers. Free Website.
ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature)
A bibliographic database from LION which contains over 750,000 records covering
monographs, periodical articles, book reviews and doctoral dissertations
published around the world from 1920s onwards. Includes the full text of 61
journals.
ABSEES Online (American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies)
Covers North American scholarship on Eastern Europe, Russia, and the former
Soviet Union. It contains bibliographic records for journal articles, books,
book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government
publications. 1990 onwards. Updated monthly.
Online bookshop. Free Website.
The Anthropological Index Online is based on the journal holdings of The
Anthropology Library at the The British Museum (formerly Museum of Mankind)
which receives periodicals in all branches of anthropology, from academic
institutions and publishers around the world. Free website
Archival Sound Recordings contains approximately 12,000 selected recordings of
music, spoken word, and human and natural environments. The collections include:
Accents and dialects; African Writers' Club; Amphibians; Art and design
interviews; Beethoven String Quartets; British wildlife recordings; David
Rycroft Africa recordings; Ethnographic wax cylinders; Klaus Wachsmann Uganda
recordings; Oral history of jazz in Britain; Records and record players;
Scientists' lives; Soundscapes; and St Mary-le-Bow public debates.
The Archives Hub provides a single point of access to descriptions of archives
held in over 145 UK universities and colleges. At present these are primarily at
collection-level, although complete catalogue descriptions are provided where
they are available. Free Website.
Art Index (Wilson)See :
Wilson Art Index
A searchable database containing full-text articles from journals, magazines and
conference proceedings published by the Association for Computing Machinery. All
individual serial titles can be accessed by searching the Library catalogue by
Periodical Title. All individual ACM Digital Library titles are indexed in the
Library catalogue and can be found using the
Periodical title search or
title search.
A to Z list of The Library ACM subscriptions
The British and Irish Legal Information Institute (BAILII) provides access to
the most comprehensive set of British and Irish primary legal materials
available for free on the internet. It includes 46 databases covering 7
jurisdictions. The system contains around 7.5 gigabytes of legal materials and
around 400,000 searchable documents with about 15 million internal hypertext
links. See also:
BIALII Openlaw Project. Free Website.
BANKSCOPE is a database of 29,199 banks worldwide and contains information on
over 29,199 (13,757 US) banks around the world including: 16 years of detailed
accounts (country specific "as reported" and standardised), ratios, ratings and
rating reports, ownership, country risk and country finance reports.
Indexes and abstracts 1,400 journals, also books, conference proceedings,
essays, exhibition catalogues, selected art dealers' catalogues, doctoral
dissertations and microform publications. Abstracts are in either French or
English. Incorporates the complete contents of International Repertory of the
Literature of Art (RILA) and Repertoire d'Art et d'Archeologie (RAA).
BioMed Central is an independent publishing house committed to providing
immediate free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research. Free Website.
A bookshop on the Internet. Covers 1.5 million titles and provides a
personalised service for members. Free Website.
The British Library online catalogue covers the Reference and Document Supply
collections of the British Library. Free website.
British Newspapers, 1600-1900 is a comprehensive digital historic newspaper
archive. It provides access to historic newspapers, newsbooks, ephemera and
national & regional papers from British Isles. This interface searches:
17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers and 19th century British Library
Newspapers
British Periodicals provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of
periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising
millions of high-resolution facsimile page images.
British Library EThOS (Electronic theses online service)
See :
EThOS (British Library Electronic theses online service)
Catalogue of selected internet resources covering all academic subject areas.
The A/Z of Subject Terms is particularly useful. Free Website.
Database of British newsreel production between 1910 and 1979. It contains
160,000 records from 21 newsreels and cinemagazines, and is designed to make
information on the newsreels available for academic study. Search the database
for its historical coverage of the 20th century or read about the newsreels
themselves and the people who produced them. Free Website.
Provides the full text for over 8000 business journals and other sources,
including full text for more than 1,500 academic journals. BSC offers
information in nearly every area of business including: management, economics,
finance, accounting, and marketing. Includes the full text of journals such as:
Accounting Review, Harvard Business Review, California Management Review,
Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Journal of
Accounting Research, Journal of Finance, Academy of Management Review, Journal
of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, etc. The database
includes full text country economic/political data, such as EIU country profiles
& reports, OECD economic surveys, and others from Global Insight, ICON Group and
CountryWatch, as well as market research reports from Datamonitor, and detailed
company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies. All individual
Business Source Complete titles are indexed in the Library catalogue and can be
found using the Periodical title
search or title search.
A to Z list of The Library BSC subscriptions.
Cambridge University Press publishes a prestigious list of scholarly journals,
ranging across the humanities, social sciences and STM disciplines, made
available electronically through the Cambridge Journals online service.
Please note: this site allows free searching but access to the full text is
by subscription only and The Library does not subscribe to all titles available.
All individual CJO titles are indexed in the Library catalogue and can be found
using the Periodical title
search or title search.
A to Z list of The Library CJO subscriptions
Casetrack includes transcripts from the Court of Appeal, High Court, and
Employment Appeals Tribunal.
Census.uk provides a one stop gateway to data and support services which w users
and researchers in UK Higher and Further Education to access the 1971, 1981,
1991 and 2001 UK censuses. It provides one-stop registration for the Census
Dissemination Unit (CDU) at MIMAS (University of Manchester); UKBORDERS at EDINA
(University of Edinburgh); the Centre for Interaction Data Estimation and
Research (CIDER) (Universities of Leeds and St Andrews); and Samples of
Anonymised Records (SARs) from the Cathie Marsh Centre for Census and Survey
Research (University of Manchester). Registration via Census.ac.uk also provides
access to other data services including CHCC - Historical Census Collection from
AHDS History (University of Essex) and the Economic and Social Data Service
(ESDS).
Learning and Teaching Materials to support the collection of Historical and
Contemporary Census Data.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields
of nursing and allied health, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical
paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. The indexing goes
back to 1937 and full text access is provided to hundreds of journals (but not
all
journals). All individual full text CINAHL Plus titles are indexed in the
Library catalogue and can be found using the
Periodical title search or
title search.
A to Z list of The Albert Sloman Library subscriptions.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of seven separate databases. Five of these
provide coverage of evidence-based medicine and the other two provide
information on research methodology. The databases are: The Cochrane Database of
Systematic Reviews (CDSR): The CDSR contains two types of document: Cochrane
Reviews and Cochrane Protocols. Cochrane Reviews are full-text systematic
reviews which provide an overview of the effects of interventions in health
care. Cochrane Protocols provide information about reviews which are currently
being written. The Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE): DARE
contains structured abstracts of high-quality systematic reviews published in
the scientific literature. The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
(CENTRAL): CENTRAL is a bibliography of publications which report on controlled
trials. The Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews (CDMR): The CDMR contains
two types of document: Cochrane Methodology Reviews and Protocols. Cochrane
Methodology Reviews are full-text systematic reviews of methodological studies.
Protocols provide place-markers for reviews which are currently being written.
The Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR): CMR is a bibliography of publications
which report on methods used in the conduct of controlled trials. The Health
Technology Assessment Database (HTA): This database contains information on
healthcare technology assessments (defined as prevention and rehabilitation,
vaccines, pharmaceuticals and devices, medical and surgical procedures and the
systems within which health is protected and maintained). The NHS Economic
Evaluation Database (NHS EED): This database contains structured abstracts of
articles describing economic evaluations of health care interventions.
Anyone who lives, works or studies in Essex can join Colchester Public Library.
They have a number of useful electronic resources that you can consult from
wherever you connect to the internet. All you will need is your Essex Libraries
membership (ELAN) ticket. Useful resources include Oxford Language Dictionaries;
Oxford Premium Reference Collection; CREDO Reference; Gale Virtual Reference
Library; World Data Analyst; British Standards Online; Kompass Business
Directories; COBRA Complete Business Reference Advisor; Oxford Art Online; The
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography; NEWSBANK; Infotrac Newspapers Online;
Guardian and Observer Archive; Times Digital Archive. This service is
provided by Essex County Council not The University of Essex, we are including
this resource on this page to draw attention to other services in the area which
may be useful to you for your study and research.
An online union catalogue which gives free access to the merged catalogues of 24
of the largest university research libraries in the UK and Ireland (including
the British Library). There is online access to more than 20 million catalogue
records, which can be searched by title, author or subject. Free Website.
Contains the full text of conventions and agreements in the European Treaty
Series (ETS), plus status of ratification and explanatory notes. The site is
fully searchable or can be browsed using the numerical list. Free Website.
Cronos See : Eurostat New Cronos
Data Archive See : UKDA
Economic and financial data and providing daily pricing and volume information
on over 37,000 equities from 57 countries, 12,000 market stock and bond indices,
87,000 macroeconomic series from the International Financial Statistics of the
World Bank, OECD and other central statistical offices, over 2,000 daily foreign
exchange rates, 1,000 daily and weekly interest rate series, 68,000 fixed income
instruments from 23 countries. Only available in The Library Large Reading
Room.
This project is being published in five sections between 2003 and 2007 offering
c. 50,000 images of original documents linked to essays by leading scholars in
the field. Section I: Conduct and Politeness (Autumn 2003); Section II:
Domesticity and the Family (Summer 2004); Section III: Consumption and Leisure
(Summer 2005); Section IV: Education and Sensibility (Summer 2006); and Section
V: The Body (Summer 2007).
The Directory of Open Access Journals provides links to open access, full text,
quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, aiming to cover all
subjects and languages.
Dissertations Abstracts : See
Proquest Dissertations and Theses
As National Security Adviser (1969-1975) and Secretary of State (1973-1977),
Henry A. Kissinger played a central, and sometimes dominating, role in shaping
U.S. foreign and military policy during the presidential administrations of
Richard Nixon and Gerald Ford. Some three quarters of the 2,163 declassified
documents in this collection were produced by Kissinger and his assistants on
the National Security Council Staff.
DynaMed is a medical information database with nearly 3,000 clinical topic summaries. Designed for use at the point-of-care, providing best available evidence and updated daily. Early English Books Online See : EEBO
Ebrary allows for searching and viewing of books and other high-value documents
from leading publishers. All individual Ebrary titles are indexed in the Library
catalogue and can be found using the
title search. The Library subscribes to the Business and Management and the
Social and Behavioural Sciences packages.
A to Z list of The Albert Sloman Library titles
EBSCO Business Source Complete : See
Business Source Complete
EBSCOHost offers a single point of access to the full-text of journals to which
The Library has a subscription. It is also possible to search and browse the
database of articles and view bibliographic information and abstracts.
Please note: this site allows free searching but access to the full text is
by subscription only and The Library does not subscribe to all titles available.
EBSEES lists books, journal articles, reviews and theses on Eastern Europe
(formerly Communist countries) published in the eight countries of Western
Europe listed below. It includes documents from all these countries, whether
published in that country's language or in the languages of the countries
studied. This includes national minorities and émigré publications. The
database contains over 50,000 bibliographical citations to works published
between 1991 and 1996. From 1996 onwards, German monographs are not listed, as
users can find them through the catalogues of the
German National Library in
Frankfurt/Main. Free website.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online is a full text library of over 150,000
eighteenth-century printed books, with more than 26 million scanned facsimile
pages. Each title has a full citation record from the English Short Title
Catalogue and is fully searchable - including full-text and illustrations.
ECLAS is the European Commission's union catalogue and is a bibliographic data
base consisting of ca. 200 000 completed catalogue records in the domain of
European affairs. Free website.
Economic and Social Data Service See: ESDS
EEBO contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in
England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English
printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. It contains over 125,000 titles listed in
Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475 - 1640), Wing's Short-Title
Catalogue (1641-1700) and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661). Among the thousands
of titles featured in EEBO are works by Malory, Bacon, More, Erasmus, Boyle,
Newton, Galileo; musical exercises by Henry Purcell and novels by Aphra Behn;
prayer books, pamphlets, proclamations, almanacs, calendars and many other
primary sources.
Emerald is a growing collection of over 40,000 articles from over 100 of the
most prestigious management journals. It provides access to the latest
management research and practice and covers all major management disciplines.
Please note: this site allows free searching but access to the full text is
by subscription only and The Library does not subscribe to all titles available.
All individual Emerald titles are indexed in the Library catalogue and can be
found using the Periodical title
search or title search.
A to Z list of The Albert Sloman Library Subscriptions
A collection of original documents relating to Empire Studies, sourced from
libraries and archives around the world. The database provide users with a wide
choice of document types and perspectives, within a structure of five thematic
sections selected around the key topics of Empire courses: cultural contacts;
literature; the visual empire - exhibitions; religion; race, class, colonialism
and imperialism.
The English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) lists over 460,000 items published
between 1473 and 1800, mainly in Britain and North America and mainly, but not
exclusively, in English from the collections of the British Library and over
2,000 other libraries. Originally titled the 'Eighteenth Century Short Title
Catalogue', covering the period from 1701 to 1800, coverage has now been
extended to the 15th century. The ESTC covers not only items printed in
English-speaking countries, or countries under British colonial rule, but also
items in English printed elsewhere and items with false imprints purporting to
have been printed in English-speaking countries. The nature of the material
recorded is also varied. As well as containing the works of the major figures of
the period, the file also contains records of all types of printed literature
which had never previously been catalogued. This includes lists of all kinds,
notices, advertisements, slip-songs, election ephemera, and other single-sheet
material. It also contains records for collections such as the Thomason
Collection, which represents a unique 'snapshot' of English political and social
history during the English Civil War and Interregnum, and the Clarke Collection
at Worcester College, Oxford. Free Website.
This huge electronic database covers American education periodical literature
from 1966 forwards. It is also useful for material on the international scene
(eg Africa, Asia). It also includes coverage of report literature. There is a
significant quantity of British material on ERIC. Free Website.
The Economic and Social Data Service (ESDS) is a national data service providing
access and support for an extensive range of key economic and social data, both
quantitative and qualitative, ning many disciplines and themes. These data
services include:
ESDS Government - led by CCSR
with support from the UKDA, promotes and facilitates increased and more
effective use of large-scale government surveys in research, learning and
teaching. This includes methodological guides, short courses and support for key
statistical packages.
ESDS Longitudinal
- is undertaken jointly by the UKDA and the UK Longitudinal Studies Centre
(ULSC), based at the Institute for Social and Economic Research (ISER). The
service supports a range of longitudinal data collections by: creating data
enhancements; providing user support and training; and promoting the increased
use of longitudinal data
ESDS Qualidata -
provides access to, and support for, a range of qualitative datasets, and is
hosted by the UKDA. The service is responsible for generating a number of data
enhancements, and for providing information and training resources that focus on
strategies for re-analysing qualitative data.
ESDS
International - provides access to, and support for, a range of
international datasets both macro and micro sources. ESDS International is led
by MIMAS at Manchester, with support from the UKDA. Major datasets include: IMF
- Direction of trade statistics IMF - International financial statistics
National Statistics Databank - selected economic time series data OECD - Main
economic indicators UNIDO - Industrial demand supply balance database UNIDO -
Industrial statistics database World Bank - World development indicators World
Bank - Global development indicators. You must first register with ESDS to
use this service.
A database of ESRC (Economic and Social Research Council) funded research
including all associated publications and products. Free Website.
EThOS aims to provide a 'single point of access' where researchers the world
over can access all theses produced by UK Higher Education. The database can be
searched by anyone, but individual users need to register to get access to the
full text of theses. Many theses are free to download instantly, whilst others
will only be available once digitisation has been requested. Free website.
The database of adopted EU legislation. It contains the full text of the
consolidated treaties and all legislation in force. It also has the full text of
the Official Journal C and L series for the last 40 days as well as recent
judgements of the Court. Free Website.
Available on The Economic and Social Data Service (ESDS). The Eurostat New
Cronos database contains high quality macroeconomic and social statistics data
organised into nine statistical themes; General Statistics, Economy and Finance,
Population and Social Conditions, Industry, Trade and Services, Agriculture and
Fisheries, External Trade, Transport, Environment and Energy, Science and
Technology. Data is available for the 25 European Union countries plus Japan,
the United States, the central European countries and other main economic
partners of the Union. The Eurostat New Cronos database contains monthly,
quarterly, bi-annual or annual data, depending on the variable and country
selected from 1960 onwards.
FLAG is a collaborative Internet gateway to the holdings of foreign,
international and comparative law in UK universities and national libraries.
Free Website.
The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Report has been the United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence for nearly 70 years. The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe, and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. FBIS Daily Reports, 1974–1996 constitutes a one-of-a-kind archive of transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news that provides insight into the second half of the 20th century; many of these materials are firsthand reports of events as they occurred.
FBIS Daily Reports, 1974–1996 consist of translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from: Middle East and North Africa, 1974–1987; Near East and South Asia, 1987–1996; South Asia, 1980–1987; Sub-Saharan Africa, 1974–1980 and Africa, 1987–1996; Eastern Europe, 1974–1996. These media sources were monitored in their languages of origin, translated into English, and issued by an agency of the US government.
The Foreign Law Guide contains current sources of codes and basic legislation in
jurisdictions of the world, it is a comprehensive source for essential
information on foreign law from nearly 200 jurisdictions. click on subscriber
login to access.
The latest UK and international business, finance, economic and political news,
with comment and analysis from the Financial Times team, plus a 5 year archive
of the Financial Times.
The Free Medical Journals Site is dedicated to the promotion of free access to
medical journals over the Internet. Free Website.
GMID (Global Market Information Database)- See :
Passport GMID
A beta site from the web search engine 'Google' created in partnership with book
sellers and a number of libraries, including Universities at Bavaria, Cambridge,
Catalonia, Cornell, Columbia, Ghent, Harvard, Keio, Lausanne, Oxford, Princeton
and also New York Public Library. Search for books using keywords or via the
advanced search, look for books by author, title, ISBN. You can also browse
books online and if the book is out of copyright, or the publisher has given
permission, you'll be able to see a preview of the book, and in some cases the
entire text. If it's in the public domain, you're free to download a PDF copy.
Also, if you find a book you like, click on the "Buy this book" and "Borrow this
book" links to see where you can buy or borrow it. Free Website.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources:
peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic
publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and
other scholarly organizations. Free Website.
GreenFILE, is a freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship
between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible
information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel
sources and beyond. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well
as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on
the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology. Drawing on the
connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture,
education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE will serve as an informative
resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet.The total number of records is approximately 295,000,
and full text is provided for more than 4,600 records from open access titles.
Halsbury's Laws of England covers the whole spectrum of English law and provides
the only comprehensive narrative statement of the law of England and Wales.
Written by or in conjunction with leading lawyers, both practitioners and
academics, Halsbury's Laws of England covers every proposition of English law
(whether statutory or common law), and is divided into alphabetically arranged
titles, making it convenient to use and enabling quick and easy research into
any area of law. The text of those titles is supplemented by regularly updated
annotations: all primary and secondary legislation, all leading law reports, and
many specialist series of case reports are monitored for developments which
affect the law set out in Halsbury's Laws. Lexis training and information is available from the University of Essex
Student Associate. Please contact: Kiran Virdee by e-mail:
kkvird@essex.ac.uk
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and
annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hiic Division of the Library of
Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social
sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the
world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously
published since 1935, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide
to available resources. Free Website.
HeinOnline is a database produced by U.S. legal publisher William S. Hein in
collaboration with Cornell Information Technologies and the Cornell University
Law Library. The database includes an extensive library of image-based full-text
legal journals from the inception i.e. from volume one, number one, issue one
onwards, to one or two years prior to the current year. HeinOnline includes many
leading U.S. scholarly law journals, and also many non-US titles included, such
as the Modern Law Review, Cambridge Law Journal, British Yearbook of
International Law, Law Quarterly Review, and many more. The collections can be
browsed or searched. All individual HeinOnline titles are indexed in the Library
catalogue and can be found using the
Periodical title search or
title search.
A to Z list of The Albert Sloman Library subscriptions
The service provides in depth analysis of the top companies in the country.
Company Guru allows you to research information including: Financial data for
the UK's top 300,000 companies. Detailed data on all directors of UK listed
companies Live Regulatory and AFX News Feeds Share Prices, Trades and Charts.
Hermes provides details of books, journals and catalogues held by the BUFVC and
of over 25,000 UK audio-visual programmes. Free Website.
Higher Education and Research Opportunities in the United Kingdom. HERO is the
official gateway to universities, colleges and research organisations in the UK.
See also: Links to
HE & Other Libraries Free Website.
The journals that HighWire supports focus on science, technology, and medicine
(STM). Much content is available without subscription, although as a general
rule current content is not available. Free Website.
History On-Line is a section of the Institute of Historical Research (IHR)
website. It provides information resources for the teaching and learning of
history. There are currently over 40,000 records providing details of books and
articles, UK university lecturers (teachers), UK current and past research
(theses), and evaluated links to history-related websites. Free Website.
H-Net Reviews in the Humanities and Social Sciences is an online scholarly
review resource. Free Website.
HCPP includes over 200,000 House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the
present, with supplementary material back to 1688. HCPP delivers page images and
searchable full text for each paper, along with detailed indexing. The Library
has access to two collections 18th century (1688-1834) 19th century (1801-1900),
20th century (1901-2002/3 Session).
A searchable full-text database of the case-law of the European Court and
Commission of Human Rights, from the Council of Europe. Includes decisions,
judgments, reports and resolutions. Search by case title, state, application no.
etc. Free Website.
One of the largest and most comprehensive social science databases in the world,
this includes details of articles in over 2400 selected international social
science journals, and of around 7000 books per annum. Some abstracts are
available. Some material is in languages other than English, every article not
in English is displayed with both the original language title and an English
translation. Includes: International bibliography of economics, International
bibliography of political science, International bibliography of social and
cultural anthropology, International bibliography of sociology. 1951 onwards
(some abstracts from 1997).
Searchable database containing access to the full text of 128 IEEE
Society-sponsored transactions, journals and magazines in the fields of
electrical engineering and computing science from 1998.
Please note: the library only subscribes to IEEE journals. The Library does
not subscribe to conference proceedings. All individual IEEE Xplore titles
are indexed in the Library catalogue and can be found using the
Periodical title search or
title search.
A to Z list of The Albert Sloman Library subscriptions
IET Digital Library is a database of IEE online publications. Full online access
to Electronics Letters, IEE Proceedings and IEE Review is available to members
of the University of Essex. All individual IET Digital Library titles are
indexed in the Library catalogue and can be found using the
Periodical title search or
title search.
A to Z
list of The Albert Sloman Library subscriptions
Published by H.W. Wilson's and available via Lexis Nexis Butterworths, the
Index to Legal Periodicals provides an index to articles from more than 500
legal journals, yearbooks, institutes, bar association organizations, university
publications, law reviews, and government publications. This database provides
bibliographic references only, to find the full text check The Library catalogue
using Periodical Title Search.
Index to all British & Irish theses accepted for higher degrees since 1716.
Abstracts available for some theses between 1970 & 1985, and for all theses from
1986 onwards.
Palmer's Full Text Online contains the Index to The Times from October 1790 to
December 1905. The Full Text component s the years from 1800 to 1870.
Gateway for works published by Taylor & Francis, Routledge, Psychology Press and
Informa Healthcare.
Please note: this site allows free searching but access to the full text is
by subscription only and The Library does not subscribe to all titles available.
All individual Informaworld titles are indexed in the Library catalogue and can
be found using the Periodical
title search or title
search.
A to Z list of The Library Informaworld subscriptions
A bibliographic database which offers access to article summaries from over
20,000 publications. Full text access is available to subscribers of particular
publications, although for a definitive view please follow the library
catalogue. Non-subscribers can, for the majority of articles, pay-per-view.
The University of Essex has free access to the 2004 Historic Archive package,
which consists of 56 journals between 1874 and 1998. Full details of the package
are available from IOP.
Continually growing reference database of abstracts from articles relevant to
the philosophy, methodology, or practice of operations research.
The International Genealogical Index (IGI) is a database of genealogical
records, compiled from a variety of different sources, and maintained by The
Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Free Website.
ILEJ is a joint project to digitise substantial runs of 18th and 19th Century
journals. The following titles are available: Annual register Vol.1-21,
1758-1778, Blackwood's Edinburgh magazine Vol.53-72, 1843-1852, Builder
Vol.1-10, 1843-1852, Gentleman's magazine Vol. 1-20, 1731-1750, Notes and
queries 1st, 2nd, 3rd & 4th series, 1849-1869, Philosophical transactions of the
Royal Society Vol.50-67, 1757-1777. Free website
Covers more than 100,000 movies and contains over a million and half filmography
listings for actors, producers, directors and others associated with film
making. It contains plot summaries, character names, movie ratings, years of
release, movie trivia, quotes, soundtracks, production companies, distributors,
special effects companies, languages, reviews, Academy Award information etc.
Free Website.
Intute is a free online service providing access to the very best Web resources
for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK
universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites
in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources. The
database contains 120278 records. Intute has sections in the following subject
areas Science and Technology Arts and Humanities Social Sciences Health and Life
Sciences. Free Website.
ISI Proceedings indexes the published literature of the most significant
conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions in a wide
range of disciplines in science and technology.1990 onwards.
ISI Citation Indexes See: Web of
Science
This collection provides access to thousands of items selected from the John
Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera, offering unique insights into the
changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the eighteenth, nineteenth and
early twentieth centuries. Categories include Nineteenth-Century Entertainment,
the Booktrade, Popular Prints, Crimes, Murders and Executions, and Advertising.
Journals@Ovid is an "an aggregate of hundreds of scientific, technical, and
medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies." It is a searchable
index of over 1200+ scientific, technical, nursing and medical journals.
Coverage is from 1996 (1993 for some journals) to the present. Access to the
full text is restricted to the titles The Albert Sloman Library subscribes to
i.e. those included in PsycARTICLES.
The JCR (Sciences edition) is a resource tool for journal evaluation, using
citation data drawn from over thousands of journals, it provides provides a
systematic means of determining the relative importance of science journals
within their subject categories. The JCR can show you the: highest impact
journals, most frequently used journals, most popular journals and largest
journals. It is the only source of citation data on journals and includes
virtually all specialties in the areas of science
& technology. Coverage from 2005 onwards.
JCR (Social Sciences edition) is a resource tool for journal evaluation, using
citation data drawn from over thousands of journals, it provides provides a
systematic means of determining the relative importance of social sciences
journals within their subject categories. The JCR can show you the: highest
impact journals, most frequently used journals, most popular journals and
largest journals. It is the only source of citation data on journals and
includes virtually all specialties in the areas
of the social sciences. Coverage from 2008 onwards.
Collection of archives of selected journals, starting with the very first
issues, many of which were published as far back as the nineteenth century. The
Library subscribes to the following collections: the Arts & Sciences I
Collection focusing on the humanities and social sciences, containing 117
journals in 15 academic disciplines, including Economics, History, Literature,
Sociology, Asian Studies and Anthropology. The Arts & Sciences II
Collection includes at least 100 journals in History, Economics, and Asian
Studies, Classics, Archaeology, and African, Latin American, Slavic, and Middle
Eastern Studies. Arts & Sciences III focuses on the arts and humanities,
this collection includes journals in language and literature, as well as
important titles in the fields of music, film studies, folklore, performing
arts, religion, and the history and study of art and architecture. Also included
are some business and education titles. The Business Collection I
collections which brings together core titles in economics and finance and
includes a range of critical research journals in accounting, labour relations,
marketing, management, operations research, and risk assessment. Business
Collection II which broadens the number of core international business
titles and also includes a number of journals that explore the intersections
between economics and law, policy, and psychology. The
19th Century British Pamphlets comprise seven individual collections held
in universities within the United Kingdom, many of which are whole collections
that belonged to individual politicians or political families. The pamphlets
focus on the political, economic, and social issues that fuelled the great
Parliamentary debates and controversies of the 19th century. Although they have
a political emphasis, these collections represent the wide interests of their
collectors. Please note: this site allows free searching but access to the
full text is by subscription only and The Library does not subscribe to all
titles available. All individual JSTOR titles are indexed in the Library
catalogue and can be found using the
Periodical title
search or title search.A
to Z list of The Albert Sloman Library subscriptions
An archive of news and current affairs. Full-text access to current year and
previous 12 months only.
As National Security Adviser (1969-1975) and Secretary of State (1973-1977), Henry A. Kissinger played a central, and sometimes dominating, role in shaping U.S. foreign and military policy during the presidential administrations of Richard Nixon and Gerald Ford. Some three quarters of the 2,163 declassified documents in this collection were produced by Kissinger and his assistants on the National Security Council Staff.
Daily updated index of unreported cases, with summaries back 20 years; index of
articles from major UK legal publications; legislation and case citator; statute
summaries and legislation tracking service (commencement and repeals, Bills and
Command Papers) and jobs.
The LJI database indexes articles from legal journals published in the United
Kingdom and Europe and journals covering topics pertaining to the laws of the
European Community and of its Member States. More than 430 United Kingdom and
English language journals are covered. A document is an index entry or abstract
of a case report or comment, legislative text or comment, a commission decision,
company data, a question and answer, a letter, an editorial, or a publication
review. Coverage begins with 1986.
Lexis Nexis Butterworths See: Lexis
Library
Lexis Library (formerly Lexis Nexis Butterworths) provides access to full-text
case law and legislation for the UK, US (federal and State), EU and other
jurisdictions. It also provides access to a large number of full-text legal
journals, local and national newspapers and business information. Useful
journal article files on LNB see:
Index to legal periodicals
(bibliographic) &
U.S. and Canadian Law Reviews Combined (full text).
Lexis training and information is available from the University of Essex Student Associate. Please contact: Kiran Virdee by e-mail: kkvird@essex.ac.uk
Libcat offers quick and easy access to library websites in the United States.
Select a state from the map of list of states to see academic, government,
public, and special libraries in that state.
Online catalogue for the United States Library of Congress. Free Website.
Library Servers via WWW, Libweb currently lists over 7700 pages from libraries
in 146 countries.
Containing over 33,000 abstracts from over 400 leading linguistics journals and
allows searching using any combination of journal or abstract title,
sub-discipline, volume, issue, author or key word plus "title in translation",
date of publication as well as perform "special character" searches.
The Library, Information Science &
Technology Abstracts (LISTA) - this world-class bibliographic database
provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging,
bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
Delivered via the EBSCOhost platform, LISTA indexes nearly 600 periodicals plus
books, research reports, and proceedings. With coverage dating back to the
mid-1960s, it is the oldest continuously produced database covering the field of
information science.
The Literary Encyclopedia is an original literary reference work, written by
specialists from universities around the world. It provides over 6400
authoritative profiles, usually around 2200 words in length, of authors, works
and topics written by experts.
Literature Online is a searchable database of more than 350,000 works of English
and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies and key
criticism and reference resources. It comprises of the following services:
African American Poetry American Drama 1714-1915 American Poetry Annual
Bibliography of English Language and Literature (Abell) Canadian Poetry Early
American Fiction 1789-1875 Early English Prose Fiction Eighteenth-Century
Fiction English Drama English Poetry English Poetry, Second Edition The Faber
Poetry Library The King James Bible Nineteenth-Century Fiction Twentieth-Century
African American Poetry Twentieth-Century American Poetry Twentieth-Century
Drama Twentieth-Century English Poetry.
Presents a digital library of books and journals related to the development of
United States social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction
(1850-1877). Offers online access to scanned images of the pages in the books
and journals. Making of America is a collaborative project between the
University of Michigan in Ann Arbor, and Cornell University in Ithaca, New York,
with funding from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. The MOA consists of primary
materials from the Michigan and Cornell libraries. Contains a site search engine
and a FAQ section. Free Website.
MEDLINE with full text provides authoritative medical information on medicine,
nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical
sciences, and much more. It also provides full text for more than 1,370
journals. Coverage: 1966 - present.
MLA International Bibliography is a bibliography of journal articles, books and
dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic
version of the bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.7 million
citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers.
Available via the LION interface.
Muse See : Project Muse
NDAD provides access to archived digital data and documents from UK government
departments. Datasets include: Children in care; Public health common dataset;
British crime survey; Judicial statistics; Historic mortality data files; Coast
protection survey of England, etc. Registration required to use NDAD.
Free Website.
The NRA contains information on the nature and location of manuscripts and
historical records that relate to British history. Free Website.
An online database of United Kingdom government statistics, provided as part of
the National Statistics Web site. Includes descriptions of all the data sources,
derived analyses, and statistical products and services offered by the United
Kingdom Government Statistical Service. Free Website.
The National electronic Library for Health is a cooperative venture with
NHS-associated libraries to make available an online health resources library
for the professional, the patient, and the public. It provides a single point of
access to a wide variety of information such as National Service Frameworks,
care pathways, guidelines, evidence-based databases, key documents, critiques of
news stories and specialist libraries.
This service provides full text access to over 10,000 books plus over 340
publicly accessible e-books in a range of subject areas. It is possible to
search the entire collection or to search within a specific title. The
publishers represented include Blackwells, Cambridge University Press, Oxford
University Press, Institute of Physics, Elsevier, Taylor and Francis,
McGraw-Hill and Wiley. Titles owned by The Albert Sloman Library can be found
and searched via
title search in The Library
Catalogue.
A to Z list of The Albert Sloman Library titles
Contains company information for 11,000 companies world-wide, daily financial
and business news, the full text of the Financial Times. Also includes news from
over 2000 global sources with a 20 year archive.
19th Century British Library Newspapers contains full runs of 48 influential
national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural
segments of the 19th century British society.
OAIster is a union catalog of digital resources. Digital resources can range
from an old-time advertisement of electric refrigerators (from the Library of
Congress American Memory project) to Harriet Beecher Stowe memoirs (from the
University of Michigan Digital Library Production Service Making of America
collection). Free Website.
The online version of CCL: Current contents Linguistik (now ceased) contains the
tables of contents of more than 270 linguistics journals. Coverage is from 1998
onwards. Free Website.
Claims to be the "world's biggest open access English language journals portal".
It is an electronic gateway to global journal literature in the open access
domain. It was launched in Bangalore, India in
2006 by Informatics (India) Ltd to promote the Open Access Initiative.
The online version of the Oxford English Dictionary provides access to the
material contained in the 20-volume Second Edition of the Oxford English
Dictionary and the 3 volumes of Additions.
Gateway for e-journals published by Oxford University Press.
Please note: this site allows free searching but access to the full text is
by subscription only and The Library does not subscribe to all titles available.
All individual OUP titles are indexed in the Library catalogue and can be found
using the Periodical title
search or title search.
A to Z list of The Library OUP subscriptions
The Albert Sloman Library has access to the Philosophy, Political Science, Law,
History, Business and Management, and Economics and Finance part of this
resource. The authors range from classic thinkers to modern masters, including
twentieth-century Nobel Prize winners, and come from across the globe.
A to Z list of The Albert Sloman Library subscriptions
The Library subscribes to 3 e-book collections with Palgrave: Business &
Management, History and Politics & International Studies. Please note: this
site allows free searching but access to the full text is by subscription only
and The Library does not subscribe to all titles available.
Palmer's Full Text Online contains the Index to The Times from October 1790 to
December 1905. The Full Text component s the years from 1800 to 1870.
Parliamentary data (previously known as POLIS) provides an index to proceedings
and publications of both Houses of Parliament and includes the full text of
Early Day Motions since May 1997. Site includes search engine, live
informational links and links to recent papers. Free Website.
The Global Market Information Database (GMID) is a online business information resource providing intelligence on industries, countries and consumers.
More information.
From the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy, PEDro provides access to
bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials and
systematic reviews in physiotherapy. Most trials on the database have been rated
for quality to help discriminate between trials that are likely to be valid and
interpretable and those that are not."--Database information screen. Free
Website.
Searchable archive of the following journals: Annual of psychoanalysis (Vols.
1-31, 1973-2003), Bulletin of the American Psychoanalytic Association (Vols.
1-50, 1938-1994), Bulletin of the International Psycho-Analytical Association
(Vols. 1-80, 1920-2000), Canadian journal of psychoanalysis (Vols. 1-11,
1993-2003), Contemporary psychoanalysis (Vols. 1-39, 1964-2003), Gender and
psychoanalysis (Vols. 1-12, 1996-2003), International forum of psychoanalysis
(Vols. 1-12, 1992-2003), The International journal of psycho-analysis (Vols.
1-84, 1920-2003), The International review of psycho-analysis (Vols. 1-19,
1974-1992), Journal of the American Academy of Psychoanalysis (Vols. 1-31,
1973-2003), The Journal of the American Psychoanalytic Association (Vols. 1-51,
1953-2003), Journal of neuro-psychoanalysis (Vols. 1-5, 1999-2003), Progress in
self-psychology (Vols. 1-19, 1983-2003), The Psychoanalytic quarterly (Vols.
1-72, 1932-2003), Psychoanalytic dialogues (Vols. 1-13, 1991-2003),
Psychoanalytic inquiry (Vols. 1-23, 1981-2003), Psychoanalytic psychology (Vols.
1-20, 1984-2003), The Psychoanalytic study of the child (Vols. 1-58, 1945-2003),
Scandinavian psychoanalytic review (Vols. 1-26, 1978-2003), Studies in gender
and psychology (Vols. 1-4, 2000-2003) plus the full text of Standard edition of
the complete psychological works of Sigmund Freud, Freud's correspondence with
Abraham, Ferenczi, Fliess, Jones and Jung, and 23 other classic psychoanalytic
books. PEPWeb also provides access to PEPLiteratureSearch which searches both
the Archive and current content from many of the journals included in the
Archive. Abstracts and summaries of current articles are available through this
database.
N.B. The Library does not subscribe to current content on this database.
All individual PEPWeb titles are indexed in the Library catalogue and can be
found using the Periodical title
search or title search.
A to Z list of The Albert Sloman Library Subscriptions
Periodicals Archive Online is the new name for PCI Full Text - an archive of
over 400 hundred digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social
sciences. It is also possible to search for article citations in the companion
database Periodicals Index Online (PIO).
A to Z List of The Albert Sloman Library Subscriptions.
Periodicals Index Online is the new name for Periodicals Contents Index - a
database of millions of article citations published in the arts, humanities and
social sciences, across more than 300 years. It also contains links to full text
articles in the companion database Periodicals Archive Online (PAO).
Index and abstracts from books and over 300 journals of philosophy and related
interdisciplinary fields. Covers aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic and
metaphysics. 1940 to date.
The PrimateLit database provides bibliographic access to the scientific
literature on nonhuman primates for the research and educational communities.
Coverage of the database s 1940 to present and includes all publication
categories (articles, books, abstracts, technical reports, dissertations, book
chapters, etc.) and many subject areas (behavior, colony management, ecology,
reproduction, field studies, disease models, veterinary science, psychology,
physiology, pharmacology, evolution, taxonomy, developmental and molecular
biology, genetics and zoogeography). From the Washington National Primate
Research Center, University of Washington. Free website.
Features Project Gutenberg, which has the goal of making information, books, and
other materials available to the public in forms that are easy to read, use,
quote, and search. Offers access to electronic text listings, recent releases,
newsletters, articles, and other archives. Books included are out of copyright
and thus generally pre-1923. Free website.
Provided by John Hopkins University Press, Project Muse is an interdisciplinary
collection of high quality, peer reviewed journals in the humanities, arts, and
social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. Muse is fully searchable
and allows keyword searching.
Please note: this site allows free searching but access to the full text is
by subscription only and The Library does not subscribe to all titles available.
All individual Project Muse titles are indexed in the Library catalogue and can
be found using the Periodical
title search or title
sA to Z list of The Albert Sloman Library subscriptions
Contains records of over 1.6 million dissertations, from the first U.S.
dissertation accepted in 1861, to the most recent. From 1980 most records
contain abstracts. UK doctoral theses included from 1988. From 1997, records
contain 24-page previews.
PsycARTICLES is a journal database holding the full text of 56 journals (most
from Vol. 1, Issue 1 to the present) published by the American Psychological
Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian
Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group.
A to Z list of
The Albert Sloman Library subscriptions
This database gives access to full-text Parliamentary Papers (Command Papers,
House of Commons and House of Lords Papers, Bills, Explanatory Notes, Public
Bill and Standing Committee Debates) for the 2006/07 Parliamentary Session
onwards.
An archive of freely (sometimes current content is excluded) available life sciences journals. Coverage dates back to the 1950's. Free Website.
RePEc is a collaborative effort of over 100 volunteers in about 25 countries to
enhance the dissemination of research in economics. At the heart is a
decentralized database of working papers, journal articles and software
components. Free Website.
Research Pro enables you to perform searches across multiple, selected
information resources available in The Albert Sloman Library. It functions as a
meta-search engine by simultaneously searching various resources from a single
interface. These resources include licensed full-text and citation databases,
websites and library or union catalogues.
Gateway for e-journals published by Sage.
Please note: this site allows free searching but access to the full text is
by subscription only and The Library does not subscribe to all titles available.
All individual Sage titles are indexed in the Library catalogue and can be found
using the Periodical title
search or title search.
A database for research that contains information from over 1000 Elsevier
Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences
available through the Internet. The journals are arranged under subject areas
for topical navigation.
Please note: this site allows free searching but access to the full text is
by subscription only and The Library does not subscribe to all titles available.
All individual ScienceDirect titles are indexed in the Library catalogue and can
be found using the Periodical
title search or title
search.
A to Z list of The Albert Sloman Library subscriptions
Screenonline is a website devoted to the history of British film and television,
and to Britain's social history as revealed by film and television. The site
features hundreds of hours of video clips from the vast collections of the BFI
National Film and Television Archive, alongside thousands of stills, posters and
press books and several hours of recorded interviews with film and television
personalities. This material is supplemented by rich and authoritative
contextual material by expert writers, specially commissioned for Screenonline.
Gateway to open-access institutional repositories in UK universities. Free
Website.
Site offers a searchable database of published papers with abstracts and full
bibliographic descriptions relating to the social sciences which are available
for viewing or downloading. Free Website.
Indexes web sites, journals, books, conference proceedings, dissertations,
reports, audio-visual material in the following subject areas: sports medicine
and science, exercise physiology, fitness and wellness. 1975 onwards. Books and
dissertations: 1949 to the present. See also SIRCExpress (document delivery
service for Sport Discus).
Gateway for e-journals published by Springer.
Please note: this site allAll individual SpringerLink titles are indexed in
the Library catalogue and can be found using the
Periodical title search or
title
search.
A to Z list of The Library SpringerLink subscriptions
The Library subscribes to 2 e-book packages with Springer Link:
Business and Economics books published in 2005 to 2007 & 2009 and
Humanities, Social Sciences & Law books published in 2005 to 2008.
Please note: this site allows free searching but access to the full text is by
subscription only and The Library does not subscribe to all titles available.
Dynamic reference work. Each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an
expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and updates are refereed by
the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public.
Fixed editions of the Encyclopedia are created and archived every three months.
Part I: The Tudors, 1509-1603: State papers
domestic (TNA: SP 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15 British Library:
Lansdowne Collection's Burghley Papers HMC Calendars and Haynes/Murdin
transcriptions of the Cecil Papers, Hatfield House). 3 million pages of 16th- & 17th-century British government documents
with over 200,000 searchable pages of calendars and catalogues. Each manuscript
document is linked to its calendar entry.
The UK Statute Law Database (SLD) is the official revised edition of the primary legislation of the United Kingdom made available online. Free Website.
TicTOCS is a free service covering 12,713 scholarly journal Table of Contents
(TOCs) from 447 publishers. It allows you to view the latest TOC for each
journal; link to the full text of 404,828 articles (where institutional or
personal subscription allows); export TOC feeds to popular feed readers;
select and save journal titles to view future TOCs (Register to ensure your
MyTOCs are permanently saved). Free Website.
A web directory of free databases for professionals working in the UK National
Health Service (NHS), compiled by the School of Health and Related Research
(ScHARR) of the University of Sheffield. Offers access to the British Medical
Association Library Catalogue, the English National Board Health Care Database,
the Health Technology Assessment Database, and more. Free Website.
The largest collection of accessible computer-readable data in the social
sciences and humanities in the UK. Funded by the ESRC. Major datasets available
include: British Cohort Study British Crime Study British Election Study British
Household Panel Study British Social Attitudes European Social Survey Family
Expenditure Survey General Household Survey Health Survey for England Labour
Force Survey Millennium Cohort Study National Child Development Study Workplace
Employee Relations. TRAMSS - provides an introduction to searching, downloading
and analysing data in the Data Archive.
List of Universities and Colleges from HEFCE - the Higher Education Funding
Council for England. Free Website.
UKOP is the official catalogue of UK official publications since 1980.
Containing 450,000 records from over 2000 public bodies, it is the most
comprehensive source of information on official publications available. Using
UKOP you can: Search for records using basic and advanced search tools, enabling
you to specify exactly what you are looking for Browse through records using the
A-Z index of issuing bodies and departments Access the full text of over 30,000
documents, or where the full text is not available, find out where to obtain a
printed copy.
Catalogue of United Nations(UN) documents and publications indexed by the UN Dag
Hammarskjöld Library and the Library of the UN
Office at Geneva. Also included are commercial publications and other non-UN
sources held in the collection of the Dag Hammarskjöld
Library. The coverage of UNBISnet is from 1979 onward, however, older documents
are being added to the catalogue on a regular basis as a result of retrospective
conversion. Also provides access to a growing number of full text resources.
Free Website.
The United Nations Official Documents System (ODS) is the electronic repository
for official documents published by the United Nations. The full text of
documents is accessible in PDF format in all official languages of the United
Nations--Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and ish. Documents are
stored in two databases: UN documentation with comprehensive coverage beginning
in 1993 and selected earlier coverage, and UN Resolutions, which includes the
official records version of resolutions of the General Assembly, Security
Council, Economic and Social Council and Trusteeship Council since 1946. Free
Website.
UN Treaty
Collection (Requires unique login:
get login)
Contains a number of different databases together include the text of over
34,0000 bilateral and multilateral treaties in their authentic language plus
translations in English and French. The databases include: Status of
Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General; United Nations
Treaty Series (14 December 1946 - January 2005); League of Nations Treaty Series
(5 July 1920 - 3 October 1944); and Texts of Recently Deposited Multilateral
Treaties. Plus photos of signing ceremonies, treaty handbook, and treaty
reference guide including a glossary of treaty terms and more.
Overall name of a group of databases which include: Web of Science (Arts and
humanities citation index, Social sciences citation index); Journal Citation
Reports; and ISI Proceedings.
Includes three large, multidisciplinary databases: Arts and humanities citation
index, Social sciences citation index, and each database indexes the core
journals in its wide general area, including reviews, editorials, letters, etc.
They give bibliographic details of articles, and 60-70% of SCI and SSCI
references include abstracts (AHCI contains very few abstracts), but do not
contain the full text of journal articles.
West Group's online source of legal & business information. Full text
legislation, case law, law reviews, texts and newspapers from across the world.
See also: Journals and Law Reviews - Journals and Law Reviews contains documents from law reviews and CLE materials from U.S. and Canadian based publications (mainly university law reviews). Training is available from the Westlaw Student Representative: Nafisa Bibi e-mail : nkheta@essex.ac.uk Provides access to the full text of journals
published by Wiley.
Please note: this site allows free searching but access to the full text is
by subscription only and The Library does not subscribe to all titles
available.
A to Z list of The Albert Sloman Library subscriptions. All individual
Wiley InterScience titles are indexed in the Library catalogue and can be
found using the Periodical
title search or title
search.
A bibliographic database
which indexes more than 500 art periodicals published throughout the world from
1984 onwards. Coverage includes English-language
periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published
in French, Italian, German, Japanese, ish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition
to articles and exhibition reviews, Wilson Art Index
indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in periodicals.
Providing locations for more than one billion items in over ten thousand
libraries worldwide, WorldCat.org purports to be world's largest network of
library content and services. Administered by OCLC (Online Computer Library
Center Inc.), it allows the collections of participating libraries worldwide to
be searched. Simply enter the author and title of the book you wish to locate (a
more advanced search facility is also provided), specify the country you wish to
search, and you should get a list of all libraries holding copies. click ing on
the library name will take you directly to the entry in its catalogue for that
particular book. click ing on 'Library Info' will take you to its homepage.
Other useful information provided is publication details, online reviews (where
provided), cover images (if available) and price (if still in-print). An
invaluable tool for researchers seeking copies of specific books, DVDs, CDs,
articles etc. Free Website.
British Library Electronic Table of Contents - contains details of approximately
20,000 current journals and 16,000 conference proceedings published per year and
covers most subjects. The database covers the years from 1993 to date and is
updated daily. See also ZETOC Alerts an email-based alerting service in
conjunction with the Zetoc Search service (see next item), to enable you to keep
up-to-date with relevant new articles and papers. Login to ZETOC Alerts.
ZETOC Alerts an email-based alerting service in conjunction with the Zetoc
Search service (see next above item), to enable you to keep up-to-date with
relevant new articles and papers.
The ZMATH Database contains about 2.3 million entries drawn from about 3500
journals and 1100 serials from 1868 to present. It incorporates the Statistical
theory and method abstracts (STMA) database of the International Statistical
Institute.
|
![]() |